top of page

Indian Paramilitary Forces

Paramilitary force are semi-military force which are not the part of a country’s armed forces, they provide security to the nation from internal threats. They are also deployed to assist the army in the border areas. However, as per their respective acts, they are also considered as armed forces.

There are about 7 paramilitary forces in India. These forces are also respected by the nation for their valor and bravery.

Therefore, the Indian Paramilitary forces are:

1) Border Security Force (BSF)

Border Security Force is India’s primary border guarding force who are deployed in the borderlands of India near Pakistan and Bangladesh. BSF had been termed as the “First Line of Defense of Indian Territories’’. BSF also stands as the world’s largest border guarding force. It was formed on 1 December, 1965 to ensure security of borders in India.

They keep peace in the border regions and prevents illegal migration and smuggling across the border. The Director General (DG) is the head of BSF who is generally an officer from the Indian Police Service (IPS).

2) Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

CRPF is India’s largest central armed police force. This force operates under the Ministry of Home Affairs. CRPF was formed on 27 December, 1939 as the Crown Representative’s Police during the time of British reign in India. After Independence it became CRPF. They function in assisting the Indian states to maintain law and order in the region and are involved in the protection of the nation from internal threats. The motto of CRPF is ‘’Service and Loyalty’’. The Director General is the head of CRPF and is generally an IPS officer. The current DG of CRPF is Kuldip Singh.

3) Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)

The CISF is a Central armed Police Force of India just like CRPF. It was formed on 10 March, 1969 and operates under the Ministry of Home Affairs. The motto of CISF is ‘’Protection and Security’’.

Their primary roles are providing security and protection to sensitive governmental buildings as well as some important private sectors too. They also provide security to airport and metro. Within CISF, there are some reserved battalions which works jointly with the state police to preserve law and order in the region. The current DG of CISF is Subodh Kumar Jaiswal.

4) Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)

ITBP is India’s primary border patrol force who are deployed in the borderlands of India with China and Tibet. They patrol the region and prevent illegal immigration and smuggling and preserve peace in the border regions. ITBP was formed on 24 October, 1942 following the wake of the Sino-India War. The motto of ITBP is ‘’Valor, Steadfastness and Commitment’’. ITBP have also been deployed abroad for UN peacekeeping missions. They also provide assistance during disasters. The current DG of ITBP is S S Deswal.

5) Assam Rifles (AR)

The Assam Rifle is the oldest paramilitary force of India. It was formed in 1835 during British rule in India. At that time the name of the AR was Cachar Levy which was changed into Assam Rifles later in 1917. They have served in the two World Wars and had been deployed in Europe and Middle Eastern regions.

The AR have the headquarters in Shillong, Assam. They operate under the Ministry of Home Affairs. They guard the border regions of India near Myanmar. They are also involved in maintaining law and order in the Assam state as well. The current DG of AR is Lt Gen Pradeep Chandran Nair.

6) Sahastra Seema Bal (SSB)

SSB is one of the paramilitary forces of India and are involved in guarding the border areas of India near Nepal and Bhutan. They are one of the central armed forces under the control of Ministry of Home affairs (MHA). It was formed on 20 December, 1963. The motto of SSB is ‘’Service, Security and Brotherhood’’.

They were formed after the Sino-India war as Special Services Bureau to strengthen the border areas. Current DG of SSB is Kumar Rajesh Chandra.

7) National Security Guards (NSG)

NSG is an elite anti-terrorist unit which comes under the Ministry of Home Affairs. It is one of the Paramilitary Forces of India formed on 22 September, 1986. It was formed after the Operation Bluestar and the assassination of Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. Those incidents paved way to form insurgency in the nation and to prevent it NSG was formed. They are very efficient due to their rigorous training and are involved in combating terrorism.

The motto of NSG is ‘Omnipresent Omnipotent Security’’. Because of their uniforms, they are also known as Black Cats. They have also proved their valor in the attacks of 26/11 by combating the terrorists and protecting the civilians within the country. The current DG of the NSG is M A Ganapathy.

Dear readers! If you like this article please feel free to share with your friends.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page